Chamber Staff & Board of Directors - Boone County Iowa Website

Chamber Staff & Board of Directors


             Kurt Phillips               Alyssa Knudsen                Kris Blocker

Kurt Phillips, IOM begins his seventh year as the Executive Director of the Boone County Chamber of Commerce/CVB.  Phillips is a native of Minnesota, but has called Boone County his home for the past 29 years.  The father of three boys, all born and raised in Boone, Phillips has an Associate of Arts degree in Business from DMACC-Boone, a Bachelor of Science degree in Business from Iowa State University, and is a 2016 graduate of the Institute for Organizational Management at the University of Wisc.-Madison. Kurt can be reached at

Kris Blocker was born in Sioux City, Iowa but grew up in Garwin.  After a tour of duty as a mother of three, Blocker committed herself to achieving her Bachelor’s Degree while working full-time in the print industry.  In 2015 she earned her diploma in Business Administration from Kaplan University.  Blocker has previously worked at the Marshalltown Chamber and Economic Development office and brings a wealth of ideas and experience in her role as Manager of Member Services and the Convention and Visitors Bureau. Kris can be reached at

Alyssa Knudsen is a native of Anamosa, Iowa who received her Bachelor’s of Sciences from Iowa State University, with specific focus on Event Management. Knudsen previously worked with the Tournament Club of Iowa and brings energy and creativity to her role as Manager of Programming and Events in developing mission driven activities for Chamber members. Knudsen also acts as the key liaison to the Boone Area Merchants Association in guiding retail promotions. Alyssa can be reached at





Boone Area Chamber of Commerce
Kurt R. Phillips, Executive Director
903 Story Street
Boone, Iowa 50036
Ph. 515-432-3342 Fax: 515-432-3343

© 2018 Boone County Convention & Visitors. All rights reserved.